November 14th, 2022
Croydon is a area in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia situated close to 28 kilometres east of Melbourne's Central Business District. It carries a population of almost 27,000 individuals. The area that became Croydon was first utilised back in the 1840’s by settlers for the grazing of farm livestock. The initial road in the location was labeled Sawmill road as a result of sawmill close by. Later it was changed to Oxford Road and in the 1900’s that it was changed to what it is known these days as Mt Dandenong Road. The region itself was initially known as White Flats since the place was heavily populated by a coarse silvery-white type grass. The naming of Croydon was presented to it from the Lacey family members that originated from Essex, England who called it after the Croydon in the UK which was Mrs. Lacey's hometown. Near the current Main St shopping area is a road called after the Lacey family. Packages of land in the region were initially mapped in 1868 along with the location was first officially habituated with all the region being focused on the farming of sheep, beef and dairy. There have been several sawmills established. Next, there were orchards which included cherries, apples, peaches, pears and plums which thrived. Some of the present-day street names around Croydon now reflect that first uses of the area.. In 1874 Cobb & Co started a service with horses and buggies to the area. A railroad track to the region was opened on 1 December 1882 and the train station was named Warrandyte that was not really actually in Warrandyte which was inaccurate as that area would be a horse and coach ride 10km away. On 1 August 1884 it was renamed to be referred to as the Croydon railway station. From the mid-1880s Mr James Hewish developed his homestead and started a few other small business ventures which integrated a general store, news agency, butchers store along with a hotel. He also established several orchard trees. The Croydon Post Office was exposed on 1 December 1883. The nearby Nelson's Hill Post Office launched in 1902 and was later relabeled Burnt Bridge in 1979. In Mt Dandenong Road in 1908 Croydon Hall was constructed. It was ultimately proclaimed and gazetted being a city in 1912. In 1920 a Monday market was began in Croydon including livestock, chickens, other birds along with other small animals. It was really a noted landmark in the region and a popular meeting spot for locals from neighbouring areas prior to the site was redeveloped in the 80s. It was eventually shut down in 2012. For administrative, Croydon was at first an important part of what was then the Shire of Lillydale, but in 1957 a demand was presented by officials for Croydon to go out of the Shire of Lillydale and become its very own governing body. The City and Shire of Croydon was incorporated in May 1961 and was announced as a City in 1971. Afterwards, it was combined, along with the City of Ringwood being the City of Maroondah in 1994. Currently, the Main Street of Croydon is a successful community centre that has nearly 200 traders.
Add cbpayne to your subscriptions feedcbpayne
To notify a previous commenter, mention their user name:
@peter-smith if there are spaces.